PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage

Home Architects & Builders  Holiday House Tour Newsletters Walking Tours
About PAST Centennial Houses INVENTORY Preservation Awards Contact PAST
Advocacy History and Architecture Articles   Master Index to Houses Resources  

Palo Alto Historic Buildings Inventory

100 - 110 Waverley Oaks

Hacienda de Lemos

inventory photo inventory photo
inventory photo inventory photo
Inventory photos


The following is from the Historic Buildings Inventory as revised in 1981:

Physical appearance:   Essentially Spanish Colonial Revival in style, this stucco and tile structure combines one- and two-story elements in a rambling composition that incorporates walls, a gate, and fragments of older buildings into its design.

Two-story elements flank the central one-story entrance portion of the house. A collection of chimneys and varied roof forms combine to provide the structure with a unique form and image.

A peaked two-story concrete and stone arched gate spans the entrance driveway.

Significance:  Pedro de Lemos, director of Stanford Museum and Art Gallery for 28 years, bought three acres from Alfred Seale for his Hacienda de Lemos at 100 Waverley Oaks. The construction, started in 1931, was ten years in the building although the de Lemos family moved into the home in 1934. The artistry and Spanish background of de Lemos were reflected in the home. Some of its outstanding features are: triple, hand-crafted tile roof, heavy hand-hewn beams and carved doors. The grille-work and masonry gave testimony to de Lemos' passion for authenticity and detail. The living room, two-stories high, has huge log beams which were dragged from the San Francisco Bay. Pedro de lemos died in 1954. His daughter, Esther, (Mrs. James Morton), lived in the house in 1976.

The owners when the Inventory form were prepared were Alan and Freda Sherman. Ownership has since changed hands.

The structure is a unique and highly important architectural work by a distinguished artist, art teacher, editor and author of journals and books in art, and designer of older buildings , and varied forms create a complex and rather medieval image. The composition is skillful and the design inventive.

The gate, garage area, and grounds are intact and enhance the power and character of the building.

Note: According to Esther Morton, De Lemos' work crews worked at night to mark concrete so it could be carved during the day after it had hardened.


Location map

This house was built in 1931 and is a Category 1 on the Historic Buildings Inventory. The architect and builder was Pedro de Lemos. The property measures 105.26 by 278.98 feet.

Sources: Palo Alto Times 1/26/25; 10/1/31, 2/16/32, 11/23/32, 9/6/39, 12/6/54; Valley Hournal 3/1/72, 3/8/72; San Jose Jercury news 1/14/73, National Register of Historical Places Inventory Nomination Form, including interviews with former and present owners.


Read more: Allied Arts article


FaceBook f

E-mail us at either or

PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage—Dedicated to the preservation of Palo Alto's historic buildings.