PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage

Home Architects & Builders  Holiday House Tour Newsletters Walking Tours
About PAST Centennial Houses INVENTORY Preservation Awards Contact PAST
Advocacy History and Architecture Articles   Master Index to Houses Resources  

Palo Alto Historic Buildings Inventory

2510 Waverley Street


The following is from the Historic Buildings Inventory as revised in 1988:

Physical appearance:   This Early California style adobe residence was constructed of adobe brick made at the site. It has a tile roof and features hand adzed beams in the main residence. It is the first all adobe residence built in Palo Alto.

There is a well on the property.

Significance:  The original owners and designers were Mr. and Mrs. N. H. Angell who moved to Carmel, CA. The adobe clay for the bricks came from a Los Altos orchard. The roof tiles were hand made in Mt. Eden, CA; the hollow 12 inch floor tiles were made in Richmond, CA; the wrought iron is original; and the chandeliers are from Omar the Lamp Maker in Santa Cruz.

Note: The owners, (Dr. and Mrs.) Jean and Jobe Jenkins brought this unique home to the attention of the Historic Resources Board in 1986. They worked with the Historic Resources Board to include this home on the Inventory. It was approved by the City Council on April 5, 1988.



This house was built in 1937 and is a Category 2 on the Historic Buildings Inventory. The architect was Ray Peppin of Saratoga, the contractor was Dan Roeniel, and the builder was Jack Anderson. The property measures 118.3 by 112 feet.

Sources: Phone conversation with Mr. Angell, 1985; interviews with Jean and Jobe Jenkins, 1986 - 87; photos of construction, 1937.


FaceBook f

E-mail us at either or

PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage—Dedicated to the preservation of Palo Alto's historic buildings.