PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage

Home Architects & Builders  Holiday House Tour Newsletters Walking Tours
About PAST Centennial Houses INVENTORY Preservation Awards Contact PAST
Advocacy History and Architecture Articles   Master Index to Houses Resources  

Palo Alto Historic Buildings Inventory

232 Homer Avenue

Peninsula Plating Silversmiths

HRB survey image 232 Homer
HRB photo circa 1986 Photo taken April 4, 2012

 

The following is from the Historic Buildings Inventory as revised in 1985:

Physical appearance:   This one-story, stucco-faced reinforced concrete commercial building is an integral part of the Homer street scene. The flat-roofed, parapeted building's façade is relieved only by the flush set, small paned glass showcase windows which surround the recessed, single door entrance. The windows are above a stucco wainscot. This building connects with that at 230 through an adjoining wall. Twelve randomly placed decorative panes appear to be original and are part of the showcase windows.

Significance:  This background building completes the intact row of buildings that are representative of that era. Probably built as an expansion of the City of Paris cleaning establishment (248 Homer, 1925), this building was first occupied by Frank Brown and A. W. Miller, meat and groceries in 1932, then by the De Luxe Hand Laundry. Whitten Electro Plating, later Peninsula Plating Works, began in 1939.

The owner in 1986 was Peninsula Plating Works.

 

232 map

This commercial building was built in 1928 and is a Category 2 on the Historic Buildings Inventory. The architect and builder are not known. The property measures 24.6 by 100 feet.

Sources: Palo Alto City Directories; Sandborn Fire Insurance Maps; Palo Alto Times 4/9/25, 7/13/25, 12/16/25, 1/23/26, 8/16-17/28

Top


FaceBook f

E-mail us at either webmaster@pastheritage.org or president@pastheritage.org.

PAST Logo Palo Alto Stanford Heritage—Dedicated to the preservation of Palo Alto's historic buildings.